Dunja Haqmal: Girl About… Fashion

Being a fashion designer is, or has at some point, been every girl’s dream. From Victoria Beckham to Karl Lagerfeld, being a designer is one of the most respected positions in fashion.
Meet this weeks Girl About…Fashion, Dunja Haqmal! find out how she got into fashion, designing and blogging and her advice for aspiring fashion designers and more…
 designer definition

Dunja Haqmal

Germany

GREEN PULLOVER

Website: http://theeche.com
 Instagram: @the_eche
Shop:  http://dh-the-label.com/

How did you become a designer?

Becoming a designer was always my big dream. I always knew that I´d do something in the creative field, because I grew up in a very creative household. My mother and my sisters were sewing their own clothes and If there was an event they were also always in to design some pieces. With time I discovered my talent for fashion and design and fallowed my inner voice.

How did you get in to blogging?

I started with Blogging just for fun. I thought, and still think, that taking pictures of my outfits was/ is a lot of fun and started my blog as a hobby. On the other hand I found it interesting to know that there are some people I can connect with through my sense of fashion. And nowadays I think the positive response and also the increasing number of my following crowd is amazing. But all in all it is just a side effect of Blogging which I started for myself and to express my mood  through fashion.

How would you describe your style?

As I mentioned I blog to express my mood,  and that is how I´d also describe my style. It changes with my mood and the day I have. It can be very loud but also very calm and reticent. For the most part I place importance on feeling comfortable. I believe that when you are comfortable in what you wear you emit it also and seem self-aware to the world.

What motivates you to keep going?

I guess the biggest motivation I have is my imagination. It sounds a little weird but whenever I imagine the final score ( of whatever I might do ) it motivates/pushes me forward to achieve my goal.

What advice would you give your teenage self?

I think I wouldn’t give my teenage self any advice. Because I believe in being an experiential product for ourselves. The highs and lows in our lives that we  have to go through makes us the people we are today. So I´d leave my teenage self alone 🙂

What advice would you give an aspiring designer?

My advice to an aspiring designer would be to work with passion. It doesn’t matter how you do it or what you do as long as you do it with passion and love you´ll never be held back.

what has been the most memorable highlight of your career so far?

I am still in the beginning I think the best things are still to come 🙂

what can we expect to see from you in the near future?

I have recently designed a new collection for autumn/ winter which will be on the market soon.

favourite designers?

Karl Lagerfeld is one of my favourite designer because of his timeless pieces which he designs, every time, in a new way.

Dunja In Pictures

DENIM SKIRT & NUDE TONESSTRIPES & BURGUNDY

THE BLACK DRESSBLUE TOP

Leave a Reply

