Terri Lomax: Girl About… Motivation

“If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude.” – Maya Angelou

 Meet this weeks Girl About…Motivation, Terri Lomax! find out how she started her blog and her advice for aspiring motivational speakers, bloggers and more…

Terri Lomax

San Francisco, CA

terri lomax motivational speaker advice

Website: http://mochagirlspitstop.com
Facebook: Mocha Girls Pit Stop
Twitter: @MochaGirlsPS @TerriLomax
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/MochaGirlsPitStop

 

Tell us about Mocha Girls Pit Stop

Mocha Girls Pit Stop is the blog where women of colour refuel on motivation and ignite their lives. Over the past three years the blog has grown into an international movement and a supportive community of like-minded women on a mission to become their best selves.

 

How/why did you create Mocha Girls Pit Stop?

My blog was birthed from a place of hurt and pain.  I grew up in an abusive household where my mom was physically and verbally abusive. As a result, I developed a deep seated self-hatred that negatively affected every area of my life. Often times I walked around with a smile plastered on my face, but on the inside, I was in turmoil. It took almost 20 years for me to learn the value of self-love and to realize my worth as a human being, let alone a black woman. When I started my blog I simply wanted to create a space for women of colour to be transparent, to be celebrated and to find a sisterhood that transcends location, religion and the negative stereotypes associated with black women.

I had no idea what a blog was up until I started my own. I did tons of research, I invested in myself and after 3 years I’m finally actualizing my potential and grasping my mission.

How would you describe a typical work day?

This is a tough one for me. I wear many hats and I’ve had up to 4 jobs at one time. There’s no typical work day for me but there are a series of action steps that I intentionally make time for each day.

I review my goals daily. This helps to keep me focused.

I check emails and my social media accounts and respond to as many messages/ comments as I can.

I try to tackle as many goals as I can from my to-do list. If I have a full-time job, I try to manage my blog and side hustles around the job.

What advice would you give an aspiring motivational blogger?

I’d give an aspiring motivational blogger two pieces of advice.

  1. Identify your “why” early on. Think about that “thing” that person or that reason for you doing what you do.This will motivate you on those days when you publish incredible content and only you’re BFF and your significant other read it. The blogging journal can be lonely at times but if your why is big enough the work necessary to accomplish the end goal will be worth it.

My younger siblings have been my why and as I evolve as a woman I find new sources of motivation. Lately my husband and I have been chatting about possibly starting a family within the next 3 years. My family and my future children have been motivating me to grind hard lately.

  1. See what’s out there and pinpoint your competitive edge or your special sauce.What do you bring to the table that no other motivational blogger has? This may take time and patience. It took me almost 3 years to “get it.” Your competitive edge can be a unique feature on your blog, your swag, something innovative you do on social media, your branding colours and logo. Spend some time alone and craft your special sauce as I like to call it.

What advice would you give an aspiring motivational speaker?

Find a mentor and don’t be afraid to invest in yourself. Often times when we tread into new territory we’re overwhelmed and we don’t know where to begin. Finding a mentor that has been where you want to go can make for a smoother journey for yourself. Professional development has also been key for me along my journey. I actually work with an incredible Youth Engagement Company, called CoolSpeak, that trains aspiring speakers to find their voice and be heard. You can check out CoolSpeak at coolspeak.net

What do you love about your job(s)?

I love the freedom that my blog offers. I love being able to make an impact. I love having autonomy and my favourite part by far is connecting with my community during webinars, meet ups, group chats and via email!

How do you stay motivated?

I find motivation from new experiences, conversations with strangers, reading, writing, listening to music. On days when I feel blah and I don’t feel too great about myself I take a peek inside of my “Accomplishments Binder” that’s filled with thank you cards, notes, accomplishments and other cool reminders that keep me focused and happy.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I love new experiences. I’m looking forward to going to a gun range with friends and going horseback riding since I’ve never done so. I thoroughly enjoy Shonda Thursday shows. I enjoy hanging with my family and traveling with my husband.

Check out the Mocha Girls Pit Stop blog and YouTube channel

mocha girls pit stop

xoxo girlaboutfilm.com

girlaboutfilm.com logo

Leave a Reply

